Harbour frieght Timing light

Discuss your workshop and related equipment

Moderator: FORDification

wwishart

Harbour frieght Timing light

Post by wwishart »

Hey I bought a timing light for my 69 ford f100 and I know how to hook it up. (spark plug 1 and to the battery.) but I just don't know what to point it at or where the "notch" thing is on the pulley... So I guess I dont know what I'm really suppose to be looking for just have thIs flashing light hahah. I'm new to restoring cars and this is truck is my first vehicle that I have owned. ( I am 17) any help would be appreciated.! Thanks
basketcase0302
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: Harbour frieght Timing light

Post by basketcase0302 »

I've always taken typewriter "white-out" and highlighted my desired mark on the harmonic balancer, (crankshaft pulley). There will be a fixed bracket somewhere on the bottom of your engine that lines up onto the balancer. You shine it at that fixed marker with the engine at idle and vacuum from the distributor unhooked and that hose plugged.
What engine do you have in the truck? With that info someone can point you as to where the timing marks should be. :wink:
Jeff
http://www.fordification.com/forum/view ... 22&t=46251
SOLD-71 F-350 dually flatbed, 302 / .030 over V-8 with a "baby"C-6, B & M truckshifter, Dana70/4.11 ratio, intermittent wipers, tilt steering, full LED lighting on the flat bed, and no stereo yet (this way I can hear the rattles to diagnose)! SOLD!
Many Ford bumps / one 76' EB / and several dents through the years.
A lot of "oddball" Ford parts collected from working on them for 34 years now!
2008 Ford Escape 4 x 4
wwishart

Post by wwishart »

I have a v8 390 and im not that mechanically inclined I know a little bit but not much you lost me at the vacuum from the distributor unhooked.? Are like pictures you have that I can look at.? Or can I just google it.?
flyboy2610
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Post by flyboy2610 »