1972 F100 cab - Salvageable ?

Moderator: FORDification

North56

1972 F100 cab - Salvageable ?

Post by North56 »

This is a project truck I am working on. I pulled the mats and screwed in patch metal from the floor of the cab today. Do you guys think it is salvageable or should I look for another cab? Remember I am just learning to weld. Thanks for looking.

Jacksdad
Blue Oval Fan
Blue Oval Fan

Re: 1972 F100 cab - Salvageable ?

Post by Jacksdad »

I guess it depends what your priority is right now. Getting the truck fixed as soon as possible, or learnIng to weld. Having the truck up and running would be awesome, but being able to weld and repair stuff like this is something I don't think you can put a price on.

Everything can be fixed - it's just a case of being prepared to put in the time. One thing though - check the condition of the roof/drip rails, because that can be very tricky for a beginner.

I learned to weld on an old station wagon someone gave my dad. It supposedly had no transmission, but in fact it was just the gear shift that was missing. It was rotten though - floors, chassis, inner and outer fenders, etc. My dad told me to start learning, and over the course of the next few months, I started at one corner and worked my way all around it until it was solid. We used that thing for years at his shop, and as the tow car for his comp altered dragster.

It might be daunting, but rust like yours is definitely a great way to learn. I'd say dive in and start burning some metal. You really can't learn to weld on a solid cab.
1971 DRW F350 cab and chassis with an Open Road motorhome conversion, Dana 70, 352 (originally 390)/C6, PS, power front discs, and 159" w/b.
jzjames
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Post by jzjames »

No man!
I don’t think it would be much fun after a very short while. But it would be a decent parts truck.
Saw your other pics and the cab mounts are gone, lower A-pillars, floors, inner fenders, right?