1968 2WD 351c

Post progress reports on your project truck(s)

Moderator: FORDification

w_c

1968 2WD 351c

Post by w_c »

Finally got around to buying an 1968 F100 this past January. I am not a mechanic by trade, but I think I know enough to get to fixing things. The truck originally had a 240 6 cylinder engine, got this from the VIN number, but the previous owner swap the engine from a 1970’s Ranchero. He did not remember the model, or had access to the Ranchero anymore. It seems the swapped engine is a 351C.

The good:
  • I think the body is pretty solid, minimum rust on the usual areas. Not bad for a 50 year old truck
  • The 351c seems to be in pretty good condition, it definitely moves when you step on the throttle. I have not done a compression check, but will do one later on
The bad:
  • However did the engine swap, did a piss-poor job mounting the engine. The engine is mounted on parts of steel angles, and the original ranchero engine supports without any rubber bushings. The engine does not seem to leveled, see the image below. What do you guys think about that?
  • Transmissions and Engine have some oil leaks
  • Suspension is ****. Seems to have been lower by either cutting or by heating the springs, so it handles like a shopping car
  • The paint job is bad too
What I done:
  • Repaired all the electrical hacks, the harness is back to stock and my dash is working now, no third party gauges. I want it too look stock
  • 3G Alternator Upgrade
Next on the list, fix the engine perches and supports.

Thanks of the views
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Ranchero50

Re: 1968 2WD 351c

Post by Ranchero50 »

The mounts are simple enough to sort out if you can find a stock setup in a junkyard. The ranch mount do have rubber in them. Just cut the angle iron off and bolt the stock ones in place.
'70 F-350 CS Cummins 6BT 10klb truck 64k mile Bahama Blue

Contact me for CNC Dome Lamp Bezels and Ash Tray pulls.
w_c